1 response
Comment: I could not get the article up for various reasons but I was interested because not too long after the disaster, I had the pleasure of discussing the event with Dr. Luis Alvarez a two time Nobel laureate who was actually on one of the planes that dropped the first atom bombs on Japan. I don't recall which. In any event, I proposed that he was approached with the question: "what would you do to remediate this disaster - -you are in charge and you have anything you need at your disposal. Her smiled at me and replied, "that is a difficult question?" I replied that to me it was. He allowed that he would draw a line from the center of the Chernobyl power plant out fifty miles and then generate a periphery which would be enclosed by a 20 foot hurricane fence topped by concertina wire. There would be a sign every fifty yards which stated: "don't enter into this area for 250,000 years. End of story.